To the woman with low self-esteem: How much are you worth?

Standard

20140317-212550.jpg

I am so glad this illustration does NOT depict our worth!! I’d rather be poor than defined by these things for the rest of my life.

This low self-esteemed girl used to be me though. I would put my value in ALL of the wrong things. I still struggle some times, but I am on the road to recovery and it feels great.

Once I thought my value was determined in how desirable I was. So I made sure my clothes were tight, cleavage out, dresses short, and boundaries/morals were non-existent. All of the valuable girls were like that, I wanted to be one of them!
So… That didn’t work.
Instead, I got one night stands with guys I would never hear from again. Random hands slapping my butt or groping my breast as they walked by. I even left a club in an ambulance because my drink was drugged. I had no idea who did it, or why. But I woke up in the hospital confused.

Where’s the value in that?

Ok, so another phase in my life I was sure my worth came from a man. Of course if I were taken, I was valuable because he would keep me safe. He would love me, provide for me, he would genuinely care about me.
I found out that wasn’t it either.
Instead of feeling all of those things, I felt neglected, played, lied to, not to mention cheated on by every guy I dated. One didn’t like to work, one I have no idea if he actually worked he lied so much, one was a drug dealer/ hustler (we never went anywhere – for good reason I’m sure), and one worked too much (or that’s what he told me he was doing).

*Sigh*
So my value doesn’t come from my body or sexuality, nor does it come from a male’s attention. WHERE DOES IT COME FROM?!?

My value comes from being a daughter of the Most High! A daughter of the King. God almighty Himself, and ONLY Him!

I cannot put my value in my job. Companies close, positions get removed, pink slips are handed out. If you lose your job, you then have a sense that you’ve lost yourself. And that’s a far cry from the truth!

I cannot put my value in my children. Although I love and adore them to the moon and beyond, they will grow up. They will leave the house. They will make mistakes. If I base my worth in their presence or success when they leave the nest I’ll be miserable! Or if they take the scenic route in life I’ll feel I’ve done something wrong.

I cannot place my worth in my looks. Let’s face it, we all get older. I’m pretty sure in 40 years I am not going to look like I do now. If I put my worth in looks, I’ll have a severe mid-life crisis when gravity takes hold of everything for the worse.

But I can ONLY place my worth in the most consistent being: God!

He will NEVER leave nor forsake me (Hebrews 13:5, and several others)
He wants what is best for me
(Jeremiah 29:11)
He answers me when I cry out to Him
(Psalms 118:5)

Let’s be honest; friends and family get busy, they’re dealing with their own things and don’t necessarily have time or energy to sit and listen as we vent to them. But God always has His ears open, waiting to hear your voice. You just have to start talking!

He is so good! I am relieved that I have found my worth in Him and Him ALONE! No more sacrificing my body for some guy who gave me a glance, but could care less about my heart. No more feeling useless after a break up. No more feeling inadequate because I don’t look like the girls in magazines.
No more hating myself because I’m not perfect!

We were ALL bought at the price of our Savior’s blood. We are WORTH the blood of an only child. We are WORTH taking lashes for our iniquities, and none of His own! We are WORTH IT! We are VALUABLE! Don’t let anyone, or anything take that away from you!

If you first identify and find comfort in your worth, you WILL NOT be shaken by ANYTHING that comes your way. You will press on knowing God has a strong calling on your life and He will deliver what He has promised.

In case you haven’t heard it in a while,
God LOVES YOU!!!
You’re beautiful.
And you’re WORTH IT! (Whatever IT may be!)

You’re worth that promotion, that ring… Don’t let anyone deter you from obtaining your God-given blessings or make you feel as though you’re not worthy of greatness!

Be encouraged!

“But you are a chosen people, a royal priesthood, a holy nation, God’s special possession, that you may declare the praises of him who called you out of darkness into his wonderful light.” 1 Peter 2:9 NIV

Leave a Reply

